Law Enforcement Torch Run

LETR_Mark_Vermont_Color_1.1The Law Enforcement Torch Run® for Special Olympics is the movement's largest grass-roots fundraiser and public awareness vehicle. At its most basic level the Torch Run is an actual running event in which officers and athletes run the Flame of Hope™ to the Opening Ceremonies of local Special Olympics competitions and State, National, and World Games. Annually, more than 85,000 dedicated, compassionate, volunteer law enforcement officers participate in the torch run throughout 46 nations, 12 Canadian provinces and all 50 US states, raising more than $560 Million since its inception in 1981.

The LETR movement made its way to Vermont in 1984. Today, law enforcement and public service personnel from more than fifty departments support Special Olympics Vermont athletes by running, raising funds through various events, and draping medals at state competitions. The LETR Executive Council is the governing body providing oversight of all Torch Run activity in the state. For more information about LETR and to get involved, please contact Sasha Fisher.

Upcoming Opportunities

Mar 03

Winter Games

March 3 - March 5
Jun 03

Summer Games

June 3 - June 4

LETR T-Shirt Sales

The annual Law Enforcement Torch Run t-shirt sale campaign raises funds and awareness for Special Olympics Vermont. 


Sponsorship Opportunities

The Law Enforcement Torch Run for Special Olympics Vermont offers a wide range of sponsorship opportunities and benefits. Torch Run events take place throughout the year and around the state giving sponsors ample opportunities for visibility and employee engagement. To learn more about sponsoring the Law Enforcement Torch run, please contact Sasha Fisher. 

Learn More about the Law Enforcement Torch Run

Executive Council Resources

The Law Enforcement Torch Run Executive Council is the governing body of LETR activity and strategy in Vermont. Council members are elected to serve 3-year, renewable terms. The Council is lead by Co-Directors who are elected to 2-year renewable terms.


  • Download
  • About us
  • In-kind donation form
  • 2017 t-shirt order form
  • Executive Council nomination form
  • 2017 calendar of events

LETR Executive Council


Callie Field
Vermont State Police - Derby

Bruce Merriam
Stowe Police Department

Council Members

Carolynne Erwin
Burlington Police Department

Justin Huizenga
Williston Police Department

Derrick Kendrew
Colchester Police Department

Jessica Ryan-LeBlanc
Rutland City Police Department

Raysa Ortega
Northwest State Correctional Facility

Brianne Williamson
South Burlington Police Department

Sponsored by